Leaderboard Ad

Opening Ceremony to Demonstrate the Academy’s Leadership through Changing Times

This year’s Annual Meeting focuses on the unprecedented change in today’s healthcare field. Change is not just happening to us and around us; we are also driving the change. As the leading association for otolaryngologist-head and neck surgeons, we will carry out our mission amidst current and future challenges and opportunities. This theme will be evident in the Opening Ceremony, where the program will highlight how we are Transforming. Thriving. Together.

The president of the American Academy of Otolaryngology and its Foundation, Richard W. Waguespack, MD, and Program Coordinators will offer an overview of the Scientific and Instruction Course Program, followed by the remarks of Executive Vice President and CEO, David R. Nielsen, MD, about the state of the Academy and Foundation. Stating that “One of the keys to the strength and transformative power of our Academy is the depth and breadth of our members’ service,” Dr. Waguespack will honor several members for their service and leadership with the Distinguished Award for Humanitarian Service; Jerome C. Goldstein, MD Public Service Award; The Holt Leadership Award; and the Arnold P. Gold Humanism in Medicine Award. He will then offer tributes to Presidential Citation recipients. “Each has given me so much, and influenced me profoundly, on a personal and professional level,” he said.

Rosemary Gibson

Rosemary Gibson

As always, the John Conley, MD Lecture on Medical Ethics is a much anticipated element of the program. This year it features Rosemary Gibson. For more than two decades, she has been an articulate voice and tireless leader for healthcare quality and safety. She is currently a senior advisor to the Hastings Center and an editor for JAMA Internal Medicine.

Following Dr. Waguespack’s presidential remarks, he will introduce incoming Executive Vice President and CEO, James C. Denneny III, MD, and President-Elect Gayle E. Woodson, MD. Dr. Woodson’s remarks will conclude the program.