Leaderboard Ad

SRF General Assembly Set for Tuesday Morning

Addresses by guest speakers on burnout, challenging patients, and malpractice, the presentation of awards, votes on new officers, and a bylaws change will be on the agenda for the Section of Residents and Fellows-in-Training (SRF) General Assembly Tuesday morning.

The General Assembly will take place from 7:30 am-9:30 am Tuesday at Ballroom BC in the Omni Dallas Hotel. AAO-HNS/F incoming President Sujana S. Chandrasekhar, MD, and Executive Vice President/CEO James C. Denneny III, MD, will be the opening speakers, followed by presentations about the Academy and Foundation by representatives of sections and committees.

Two of the guest speakers will be Barry M. Schaitkin, MD, Professor and Program Director, Department of Otolaryngology, University of Pittsburgh, and Richard A. Chole, MD, Professor and Chairman, Department of Otolaryngology, Washington University, St. Louis. Drs. Schaitkin and Chole will discuss medical malpractice, how lawsuits are composed, and the management of difficult patients. Later in the meeting, Spencer C. Payne, MD, Associate Professor, Department of Otolaryngology, University of Virginia, will discuss how to avoid burnout.

Other items on the agenda include:

  • Nikhila P. Raol, MD, will be recognized for receiving the Holt Leadership Award for Residents and Fellows-in-Training, and Chad W. Whited, MD, will receive the Adam T. Ross, MD, Leadership Excellence Grant.
  • Candidates for SRF offices will deliver addresses and members will vote for officers and a bylaws change.