Leaderboard Ad

General Assembly Meetings Schedules

Three General Assemblies will hold meetings during the AAO-HNSF 2016 Annual Meeting & OTO EXPOSM.

7:30 am-9:30 am Monday
Women in Otolaryngology (WIO) Section General Assembly
Join WIO members and supporters for presentations from AAO-HNS leaders, a keynote speaker, section elections, and an awards presentation. The 2016 Helen F. Krause, MD Memorial Trailblazer Award will be presented to Karen M. Kost, MD, McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada. This annual award recognizes an individual who through scholarship, advocacy, leadership, and/or mentorship has furthered the interests of women in the field of otolaryngology. A new award, the 2016 Exemplary Senior Trainee Award, will be presented to Kara S. Davis, MD, University of Pittsburgh, PA. This award recognizes an outstanding female senior resident or fellow in an otolaryngology-head and neck surgery training program.

2:30 pm-4:30 pm Monday
Young Physicians Section (YPS) General Assembly
This event will feature presentations relevant to critical issues facing young physicians. Robert H. Miller, MD, executive director of the American Board of Otolaryngology, will discuss “Maintenance of Certification,” and K.J. Lee, MD, Hamden, CT, will present “Finances, Investments, and More.” Other highlights include the section election, remarks from distinguished guests, a report from the YPS Chair-Elect, Jeffrey C. Liu, MD, and concluding remarks from YPS Chair Samantha Anne, MD.

7:30 am-9:30 am Tuesday
Section for Residents & Fellows-In-Training (SRF) General Assembly
This year’s meeting will feature presentations from AAO-HNS leaders, section elections, and an update of the annual SRF survey.

SRF Chair Meghan Wilson, MD, will present the Holt Leadership Award for Residents and Fellows-In-Training to John M. Carter, MD, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA. This award is presented to the resident or fellow-in-training who best exemplifies the attributes of a young leader—honesty, integrity, fairness, advocacy, and enthusiasm. This award is supported by an endowment from G. Richard Holt, MD, MPH, former executive vice president of the Academy.

A new award, the SRF Governing Council Leadership Award, will be given to three individuals in memory of Adam T. Ross, MD: Davy S. Cohen, MD, Royal Oak, MI; Paul D. Judge, MD, Omaha, NE; and Michael D. Puricelli, MD, Columbia, MO. This award is presented to individuals who, through their strong leadership, have exhibited guidance and mentoring opportunities to residents and fellows-in-training.

Return to index page